Burgin Board of Education Regular Meeting, January 9th, 2019

The Burgin Board of Education held its first meeting for 2019 on Wednesday, January 9th, 2019. Two new board members, Katrina Sexton and Zachary Gross, and one re-elected board member, Bob Clark, were sworn in at the beginning of the meeting to start their new terms. Mr. Clark was elected board chair, and Mr. Keith Monson was elected board vice chair.

Sarah Steele, Burgin Independent School’s transition ready counselor, was awarded the YES! (Your Excellence Shows) Award for January. Ms. Steele was recognized for all the ways she goes above and beyond to provide opportunities for the students of Burgin Independent School.

Principal Chris LeMonds also announced that Burgin will be receiving a $5,000 Lowes Grant to purchase math manipulatives for elementary students.

To read more about the Burgin Board of Education, or to view the agenda, minutes, or finance reports from previous meetings, please visit our school board page.